top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristen Elizabeth

Getting the COVID-19 Vaccine as a Crohn's Patient

A little over a year after the first case of COVID-19 was detected in the United States, I have officially received both doses of my COVID-19 vaccine.


In December 2020, the State of West Virginia distributed a limited amount of the vaccine to colleges and universities across the state. As an employee at a local college, I was selected to receive my first dose of the Moderna vaccine on December 28. I was apprehensive, as some of the negative literature surrounding the vaccine was quite daunting. Was I going to react? Would it cause a flare? I had so many questions prior to my first shot. I sought to seek out credible resources for information on the vaccine and inflammatory bowel disease and formed a decision for my body based on that information.


Before my first vaccine, I completed a couple of pages of basic questions regarding underlying medical conditions, medications, medical history, and more. As someone with Crohn's disease, autoimmune issues, and an ostomy, I made sure to disclose all of this information on the sheet. The nurses giving the vaccines were very kind, but also very thorough and open to addressing any questions or concerns that I had. Then, it was time for the shot! After years of surgeries, tubes, shots, stitches, staples, and more, I find myself rarely fazed by needles, so the shot itself was a breeze. I was then instructed to wait 15 minutes for any immediate reactions. The nurses also explained what to watch for once I returned home.


One I returned home, I noticed a little fatigue setting in, but it was not enough to affect the rest of my day. It was not until later that evening that more of the side effects began to set in. As a reminder, this was after my first dose of the vaccine. Later that evening I developed a low-grade fever, achy joints, and a little muscle pain. I also had the classic sore arm from receiving a vaccine. By morning, all of my symptoms, aside from the sore arm, had subsided and I began counting down the days until my second dose!


Time flies as of late, so before I knew it, I was receiving an email regarding my second dose of the vaccine - scheduled for Wednesday, January 28.


To be completely honest, I was a lot less nervous going into my second dose after clearing my first dose with very few symptoms. So, at the scheduled time for my vaccine, I walked over to the campus Health Center where nurses from a local clinic were giving the scheduled vaccines. I had to fill out a little questionnaire regarding my symptoms and medical history again, and then it was time for my second dose! Again the actual shot was nearly painless and I was instructed to wait 15 minutes in case an immediate reaction occurred. My 15 minutes came and went, and I returned back to work for the remainder of the day with only a sore arm and a little fatigue. It was not until that evening that things really began to take a turn for the worse...



To make this a little easier to follow, I am going to break my symptoms down by days:


DAY 1 (Vaccine Day): Sore arm, fatigue, high fever developing later in the evening.


DAY 2: High fever, full body aches, chills, very severe stomach pain, nausea, sore arm lack of appetite, and dehydration.


DAY 3: Fever (more easily managed), full body aches, chills, stomach pain, nausea, headache, sore arm, lack of appetite, and dehydration. I ended up in the ER early that morning for severe dehydration.


DAY 4: Body aches, chills, slight nausea, and sore arm. Appetite returning slowly.


DAY 5: Slightly sore arm. Low energy and weakness from the previous four days.


I felt vastly unprepared for this kind of reaction. Going into my second dose, I knew that others had shared that they had a much more intense reaction to the second dose, but I did not know just how intense it would really be. It is in times like these that missing a few major organs and living with an ostomy do work against you. After over a day of not eating or drinking from the severe stomach pain and nausea and my body fighting fevers constantly, I had become incredibly dehydrated. In fact, the ER doctor took one look at me and ordered fluids right away. Thankfully, the fluids made a monumental difference, and I believe they helped get me back on my feet faster.



How can you be more prepared going into your vaccine?

Here are a few of things that were helpful for me:


- Talk to your doctor about what over-the-counter medications can be used to control fevers. Some medications are advised against because they may lower the body's immune response to the vaccine

- Stock up on oral rehydration supplements such as DripDrop ORS (I buy mine at Walgreens or off Amazon)

- Have plenty of soup or foods that are gentle on the stomach nearby

- Make sure you have a reliable thermometer

- Have a support system close. If you have a more intense reaction, it is important to have a significant other, friend, or family member check in on you, especially if you are bed-ridden like I was

- Watch for signs and symptoms of dehydration (Dehydration - The Mayo Clinic)


Do I regret my decision to get the vaccine? Despite the my negative experience after the second dose of the vaccine, I am incredibly thankful to have received it. As someone who is high-risk, this vaccine provides so much hope and optimism for the future ahead - a light at the end of the tunnel. For those living with a chronic illness especially, the last year has been incredibly scary and uncertain. Even though I am now fully vaccinated, I plan to continue to do my part in helping to stop the spread by wearing a mask when in public and practicing social distancing. It is the responsibility of all of us to make small sacrifices that will protect our loved ones and those in our communities.


Please do not let my experience negatively impact your decision to get the vaccine if that is what you and you medical team has deemed is appropriate for you. Although the last 5 days have been rough, I would do it all over again. Talk to your doctor, do your research (with credible sources), and make the decision that is best for you.


Dark times cannot last forever. I am sending so much light to each and every one of you!



312 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page